Turkish stamp in the world women’s volleyball

Turkish stamp in the world women’s volleyball

Turkish women’s volleyball teams stamped the world volleyball sports with their achievements. The Turkish teams have brought 16 cups in international arena to Turkey since the year 2010.

Hitting the top in 2018 FIVB World Women’s Club Volleyball Championship, VakıfBank is crowned champion for the second time successively. 

In total, VakıfBank is recorded the number-one of the world for the third time (2013, 2017, 2018). Thus, the team of yellow-black colours got a title of the team having achieved the most wins (winningest) in this cup.

So far, in 2018 FIVB World Women’s Club Volleyball Championship, Turkish teams have won the championship cup 6 times in total. Besides  VakıfBank, Eczacıbaşı VitrA became the world champion in 2015 and 2016, and Fenerbahçe in 2010.

In the world champion won by VakıfBank this year, the bronze medal is won by Eczacıbaşı VitrA. In this cup, so far, VakıfBank has ranked second in 2011, and third in 2016, while Fenerbahçe has ranked third in 2012.

Turkey is at the peak with 6 championship cups

Turkey is at the peak in terms of total number of championship cups in the World Club Volleyball Championship. Turkish teams have carried Turkey to the peak in success rating by winning a total of 10 medals, including 6 gold medals, in the World Club Volleyball Championship.

Thus, Turkey is the country having so far won the highest number of championship cups with its teams. 

First cup won by Eczacıbaşı

In volleyball, the first European championship cup was brought to Turkey by Eczacıbaşı women’s volleyball team.

In the Final Four organization of the European Cup Winners’ Cup held in Bursa in the year 1999, Eczacıbaşı won out over Cermagica Reggio Emilia volleyball team from Italy in the final match and brought the first European cup in volleyball to Turkey.

Thereafter, VakıfBank Güneş Sigorta followed Eczacıbaşı by winning Top Teams Cup Final Four organized in Bursa in the year 2004 and Challenge Cup Final Four organized again in Bursa in the year 2008.

16 cups between 2010 and 2018 

In women’s volleyball, Turkish teams have brought to Turkey a total of 16 cups in international organizations since 2010.

Since the year 2010, VakıfBank has won 4 CEV Champions League and 3 World Club Championship cups, and Eczacıbaşı VitrA 1 CEV Champions League, 2 World Club Championship  and 1 CEV cups, and Fenerbahçe one from each of CEV Champions League, World Club Championship  and  CEV Cups, and Bursa Büyükşehir Belediyespor 2 CEV Challenge Cups.6 championships in the Champions League in the recent 8 years 

In the Women’s CEV Champions League, Turkish teams won 6 championship cups in the recent 8 years. In the process starting with championship of VakıfBank Güneş Sigorta in 2011, championship is won by Fenerbahçe Universal in 2012, VakıfBank in 2013, Eczacıbaşı VitrA in 2015, and again VakıfBank successively in 2017 and 2018 years.